Windies to bowl; India will play 3 spinners, Rishabh Pant will open with Rohit.

The Men in Blue are back with their regular captain Rohit Sharma to lock horns with the West Indies in the first game of the 5-match T20I series in Trinidad. The game is being played at the Brian Lara Stadium, which is hosting an international match for the first time. The host team has won the toss and decided to bowl in the opening match of the series. (IND vs WI 1st T20I Live Cricket Score)

Rohit, along with Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dinesh Karthik, are back in the squad and will lead a full-strength Indian team against the West Indies. The hosts are playing a star duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja along with leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi. Also, left-arm fast bowler Arsdeep Singh, who made his England debut, is once again in the mix.

CWG 2022 – Full Coverage | In depth India Focus | Out of the field In the photos

“Ready to go. Good to have some time off. Excited to get back and get things going. First international game here, nice to see the big crowd. Good facility.” “Looking. Will have to see how the wicket plays. Some guys have gone, some have come back. Pretty excited to start,” Rohit Sharma said at the toss.

West Indies are playing a spinner in Akil Hussain while young pacer Alzari Joseph has been handed the debut cap, home captain Nicholas Pooran said. Also, dynamic batsman Shimron Hetmire has returned to the playing XI.

“Going to bowl first. Maybe something in the pitch. Glad to know what you’re chasing. Will look forward to the series. We enjoy the format. We’re having fun.​​​​ Like to do. A spinner. Al-Zari Joseph making his debut. Shimron Hetmyer’s return to the team,” said Pooran after winning the toss.

Checkout: Commonwealth Games 2022 Live Blog

The playing eleven are:

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Rishabh Pant (w), Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Arsdeep Singh.

West Indies: Shamar Brooks, Shimron Hetmyer, Rowman Powell, Nicholas Pouran (W/C), Kyle Meyers, Jason Holder, Akil Hossein, Odin Smith, Al-Zari Joseph, Obed McCoy, Camo Paul.

Get all the latest. Cricket News, Schedule And Cricket Live Scores Here