South Africa Women defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets.

In their final Group B match at the 2022 Commonwealth Games, South Africa Women registered their first win of the event by beating Sri Lanka by 10 wickets here on Thursday.

Before defeating Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka lost their first two matches in CWG 2022 against New Zealand and England.

CWG 2022 – Full Coverage | In depth India Focus | Out of the field In pictures Medal tally

After winning the toss and electing to field first, South Africa got off to a dream start with the ball as Shabnam Ismail dismissed Hussaini Perera on the very first ball.

The Masabata class came into action in the very next over, with Sinalo Jafta taking his second catch of the match, taking the ball away from left-hander Harshitha Samarawickrama.

Nadine de Klerk bowled a brilliant double-wicket maiden in the final over of the powerplay, removing Anushka Sanjeevani and Nilakshi de Silva either side of the over. Kavisha Dilhari was swept off his stumps by a de Klerk delivery as Sri Lanka lost half their team for just 18.

Chamari Athapatthu’s 29-ball stay at the crease finally came to an end, courtesy of Masabata Klass’ brilliant comeback catch. Barring Malsha Shahani’s two fours, Sri Lanka’s lower order did not contribute much as they were bowled out for 46, their lowest ever T20I score.

Set a combined target of 47, South Africa made light work of the chase as they needed six overs to complete the win. Sri Lanka’s bowlers were troubled in the lines, giving easy boundaries to Proteas openers Annick Bosch (20 not out for 16) and Tazmin Burts (21 not out for 21).

Read this also CWG 2022 Live Updates, Day 7: Sindhu advances to Round of 16, Hema Das qualifies for 200m semis

Burts ended the game with four to give South Africa their first Commonwealth Games win by 10 wickets in 6.1 overs.

Brief scores: Sri Lanka 46 in 17.1 overs (Athapatthu 15, de Klerk 3-7) lost to South Africa 49-0 in 6.1 overs (Britts 21 not out, Bosch 20 not out) by 10 wickets

Get the latest. Cricket News, Schedule And Cricket Live Scores Here