New venue, but Rohit Sharma-led India finds old results in St Kitts

Basseterre (St. Kitts): After registering a comprehensive 68-run win in the first T20I in Trinidad, India will look to win 2-0 against the West Indies in the second T20I at Warner Park in Basseterre, St. Kitts on Monday.

What: IND vs WI 2nd T20I

When: 1 August 2022, 8 PM IST

Where: ST Kits

Both teams now travel to St. Kitts and Nevis for back-to-back matches, a great opportunity for India to continue their winning juggernaut on tour.

Also Read: IND vs WI: Uncertainty over India-WI T20 matches in US due to visa issues

At the Brian Lara Stadium in Truba, India beat the West Indies not only in all three disciplines of the game but also in terms of the playing eleven combination. India opted for three spinners in Ravi Bishnoi, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja while West Indies played only one spinner in Akil Hossain.

In the end, Bishnoi, Ashwin and Jadeja shared five wickets between them as they exposed the West Indies’ batting problems in dealing with spin while left-arm spinner Hossain took 1-14 in his four overs. . Apart from this, West Indies also erred in ground fielding and allowed Rohit Sharma and Dinesh Karthik to play important noses with the bat.

Also Read: Smriti Mandhana, Help for Spinners India beat Pakistan by 8 wickets.

India News

Thanks to Sharma and Karthik, India continued their aggressive batting template in the T20Is, scoring 190 runs batting first. But they will need to decide who opens the batting alongside Sharma in the absence of KL Rahul, as India surprised by promoting Surya Kumar Yadav to open the batting alongside Rishabh Pant. Kari, who started in the two matches against England, was in the middle order.

Apart from the spinners performing well, India will also be happy with how senior pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and young left-arm pacer Arsdeep Singh have taken wickets with precision in their overs and the West Indies Batting was set up to deny them the start they needed.

West Indies News.

West Indies, on the other hand, will be looking to shake off the loss to India after defeating Bangladesh 2-0 in the T20I series. Despite Shimron Hetmyer’s return to the team, he did not make the desired impact in the West Indies batting department.

Without Evan Lewis, Hetmyer, Kyle Meyers and skipper Nicholas Pooran still hold the aces with the bat. In bowling, they can bring in leg-spinner Hayden Walsh Jr. along with Hossain in spin, but who gets out will be the key question for them. The hosts need a collective effort to level the series and register their first win of the ongoing tour against a confident Indian side.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Surya Kumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuney. Kumar, Avish Khan, Harshal Patel and Arsdeep Singh.

West Indies: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Rowman Powell (vice-captain), Shamar Brooks, Dominic Drake, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akil Hossain, Al-Zari Joseph, Brendan King, Kyle Meyers, Obed McCoy, Camo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odin Smith, Dion Thomas and Hayden Walsh Jr.

Get all the latest. Cricket News, Schedule And Cricket Live Scores Here