Is August 1st a bank holiday? Banks will remain closed for 18 days in August. Check list

Bank Holidays in August 2022: A new month begins tomorrow, and with it comes a new set of bank holidays, where lenders across India will be closed for several days. The Reserve Bank of India, or RBI, has already released a list for bank holidays in August 2022. Bank holidays will apply as listed.

It should be noted that many bank holidays are regional and may vary from state to state and bank to bank. There are 18 bank holidays in August, six of which are weekend holidays. There are 13 regional holidays whereby lenders in certain regions are closed due to opportunities in those specific regions. If we combine the two categories, there will be 19 bank holidays. However, Patriot Day, a regional holiday for Imphal, falls on August 13, the second week of the month when all banks are closed. Therefore, the bank holiday continues on August 13.

The Reserve Bank has notified holidays under three brackets – Negotiable Instruments Act, Holiday, Real Time Aggregate Settlement Holiday and Closure of Bank Accounts. As per RBI guidelines, all banks including public sector, private sector, foreign banks, cooperative banks and regional banks across the country will remain closed on these notified holidays. A holiday applies on April 1 due to ‘closure of bank accounts’ when most banks across the country remain closed, while the ‘holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act’ is the highest category of holidays. The number is observed.

Here is the complete list of bank holidays in August 2022 as per RBI list (start From August 1, 2022).

List of holidays under Negotiable Instruments Act:

August 1: Drukpa Shizi — Gangtok

August 8: Muharram (Ashura) – Jammu, Srinagar

August 9: Muharram (Ashura) – Agartala, Ahmedabad, Aizawl, Belapur, Bengaluru, Bhopal, Chennai, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna, Raipur and Ranchi

August 11: Rickshaw Bandhan – Ahmedabad, Bhopal, Dehradun, Jaipur, and Shimla

August 12: Rickshaw Bandhan – Kanpur, and Lucknow

August 13: Patriot’s Day – Imphal

August 15: Independence Day – All over India

August 16: Persian New Year (Imperial) – Belapur, Mumbai, and Nagpur

August 18: Janam Ashtami — Bhubaneswar, Dehradun, Kanpur and Lucknow

August 19: Janam Ashtami (Shravan Vad-8) / Krishna Jayanti — Ahmedabad, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Chennai, Gangtok, Jaipur, Jammu, Patna, Raipur, Ranchi, Shillong and Shimla

August 20: Sri Krishna Ashtami – Hyderabad

August 29: Tithi of Srimanta Sankardeva – Guwahati

August 31: Samvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha) / Ganesh Chaturthi / Varasidhi Vinayaka Varta / Vinayakar Chathurthi — Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bengaluru, Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Nagpur and Panjim

There are also seven holiday weekends, including a clash with Patriot Day, when banks across the country will be closed. They are mentioned below.

List of weekend holidays

August 7: First Sunday

August 13: Second Sunday + Patriot Day

August 14: Second Sunday

August 21: Third Sunday

August 27: Fourth Week

August 28: Fourth Sunday

Thus, if you have any bank related work, you should contact your local branch to confirm bank holidays in August this year as per your area to avoid any hassle.

Read all Latest news And Latest news Here