Indian Badminton squad kept up the winning momentum with a whitewash of Sri Lanka

The Indian badminton team continued their impressive run in the mixed team competition by thrashing Sri Lanka 5-0 in an opening round Group A match to book a place in the quarter-finals at the NEC on Saturday. Passed in Hall No.5.

The Indian coaches rotated the players and rested Kadambi Srikanth and PV Sindhu after their comfortable win against Pakistan. But the result was the same — another run against a weak team for the defending champions from the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast, Australia.

CWG 2022 – Full Coverage | In depth India Focus | Out of the field In the photos

In the mixed doubles, the duo of Sairaj Rankireddy and Ashwini Ponappa took the ball forward by defeating Sri Lanka’s Sachin Dias and Thalini Handhewa 21-14, 21-8. World Championship bronze medalist Lakshya Sen stepped out on the next court and defeated Nikola Karunaratne 2-0 to win 21-18, 21-5 to make it 2-0 for India.

Akarshi Kashyap made it 3-0 and gave India an unbeaten lead with a 21-3, 21-9 win over Sri Lanka’s Vidara Suhasini Wadangae in the women’s singles. B Sumit Reddy and Chirag Shetty’s provisional men’s doubles made it 4-0 by defeating Domindo Abey Wickrama and Sachin Dias in double quick time 21-10, 21-13. The women’s doubles pair of Teresa Jolly and Palila Gayatri Gopichand won 5-0 for the top seeds and favorites to retain their gold medal.

It was a good outing for Team India, as the coaches worked on different combinations and tested the players ahead of the tough competition in the knockout rounds.

India will begin their opening round campaign with their final Group A match against Australia in the evening. With another victory, India will seal the top spot in Group A and make it to the quarterfinals.

Meanwhile, in other events on Saturday, Indian cyclist Meenakshi failed to make it to the medal round in the women’s 3000m individual pursuit. Meenakshi finished 15th and last with a timing of 3:49.598 and an average speed of 47.039 km in a field from which the two fastest riders qualified for the gold medal race while the third and fourth fastest competed for bronze. What did

Read all Latest news And Latest news Here