England, Germany dominate Euro 2022 Team of the Tournament

Last update: August 03, 2022, 10:09 AM IST

Euro 2022 is England’s first major title win for women. (AP Photo)

England forward Beth Mead – who was named player of the tournament – ​​was also named in the squad, along with midfielder Kiera Walsh, defender Leah Williamson and goalkeeper Mary Earps.

The Euro 2022 squad for the tournament, announced by governing body UEFA on Tuesday, includes four players from champions England and five from runners-up Germany.

CWG 2022 – Complete coverage | in deep | India Focus | Off the field | In the photos | Medal tally

England forward Beth Mead – named player of the tournament – was joined by midfielder Kiera Walsh, defender Leah Williamson and goalkeeper Mary Earps in the team, which was selected by UEFA’s technical observer panel.

Forward Chloe Kelly’s extra-time strike gave England a 2-1 win over Germany on Sunday as they lifted their first major trophy in front of a record crowd at Wembley Stadium.


Mead and Germany’s Alexandra Pope, who missed the final through injury, both scored six goals apiece but the England forward won the top scorer award with five assists.

Popp and fellow forward Clara Bühl, Germany defenders Julia Gwinn and Marina Hegering, as well as midfielder Lena Oberdorf – who will receive the Young Player of the Tournament award – were also in the squad.

France defender Sakina Kerchaui and Spain midfielder Etana Bonmati complete the line-up.

France were knocked out by Germany at the semi-final stage, while England knocked Spain out of the quarter-finals.

Read all Latest news And Latest news Here