All about Sanjay Arora, who won a bravery award for his action against the Veerappan gang.

With the appointment of 1988-batch Tamil Nadu cadre IPS officer, Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) Director General Sanjay Arora as Delhi Police Commissioner, it is clear that the government is not keen on the appointment in Arunachal Pradesh. Is. Goa, Mizoram and Union Territories (AGMUT) cadre officers to the post of temporary top police officer.

This is the first time that the government has appointed two consecutive Delhi CPs, who were not from the AGMUT cadre.

Although the government has done this by deputing Arora to the AGMUT cadre, he can be sent back to his cadre any time before his retirement.

The order, which was awaited for the past few days, was issued on Sunday.

The Home Ministry’s order said: “With the approval of the competent authority for inter-cadre deputation of Sanjay Arora from Tamil Nadu cadre to AGMUT cadre. Pursuant to the said approval, Sanjay Arora will take charge on or after 1st August 2022.” from the date of whichever is later and until further orders, has been appointed as the Commissioner of Police, Delhi.

Who is Sanjay Arora?

Arora is an Indian Police Service officer who graduated from Malviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur (Rajasthan) with a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering.

After joining the IPS, he served in various capacities in the Tamil Nadu Police. He was the Superintendent of Police (SP), Special Task Force, where he achieved significant successes against the Veerappan gang, for which he was awarded the CM’s Gallantry Medal for gallantry and bravery.

In 1991, Arora, after receiving training from the National Security Guard (NSG), formed the Special Security Group (SSG) to provide security to the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu during the height of LTTE activities. Played an important role. He has also served as Superintendent of Police of various districts of TN.

He served on deputation as Commandant ITBP from 1997 to 2002. From 1997 to 2000, he commanded the ITBP battalion guarding the border in Matli, Uttarakhand. Combat Wing from 2000 to 2002 at ITBP Academy, Missouri.

He served as the Police Commissioner of Coimbatore city from 2002 to 2004.

He has led the Chennai City Police as Additional Commissioner Crime and Headquarters and Additional Commissioner Traffic. On promotion, he was posted as ADGP (Operations) and ADGP (Administration) in Tamil Nadu Police.

He has served as Inspector General (Special Operations) Border Security Force (BSF), IG Chhattisgarh Sector Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) and IG Operations CRPF. Before being posted as DG, ITBP, he served as ADG Headquarters and Operations CRPF and SPLD DGJ and K Zone CRPF.

He took charge of DG ITBP on 31 August 2021 as the 31st Chief of the Force.

He has been awarded Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, Police Special Duty Medal, Interk Tahafuz Padak and UN Peacekeeping Medal.

SL THAOSEN gets extra charge.

To appoint Sanjay Arora as CP Delhi, the Government has transferred him to AGMUT cadre on deputation from Tamil Nadu cadre till his retirement or further notice.

“The undersigned is directed to convey the approval of the Appointments Committee of Cabinet for reduction of tenure of (i) Sanjay Arora, IPS (TN:88) as DG, ITBP. And Sanjay Arora , on inter-cadre deputation of IPS (TN:88) from Tamil Nadu Cadre to AGMUT Cadre, from the date of joining AGMUT Cadre to his date of retirement i.e. 31.07.2025 or till further orders, whichever is earlier. , relaxing the inter-cadre deputation guidelines,” the government said in its order.

Meanwhile, SL Thawsin, senior IPS officer posted as DG, Sashstra Seema Bal (SSB), has been given additional charge of the post of DG, ITBP till regularization. Until the appointment and induction of the officer or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

According to senior IPS officers, when Arora retires from the Delhi Police, various senior IPS officers of the 1989-90 batch UT cadre will also retire. Also, officers from other batches will be out of the race as their tenure will be less than 10 months which may work against them.

Read all Latest news And Latest news Here